Helpers

fred_rogers2c_late_1960s

The Human Mirror blog was preceded by a blog named Human Rights vs. Stalkers. Although some readers know that story and my reasons for it’s existence, others are unaware of the dealings my family had with a few “bad apples.” Those who are curious can find the old stalking blog on two sites that were left up for reference purposes:

stalkingviolates.blogspot.com and stalkingviolates.wordpress.com.

I began to recognize the applicability of stalking-related behaviors to other social problems. It seemed that some people were nursing a primitive, darker side of themselves. My concern grew into the recognition of the nature of evil; a disease of the soul that is diagnosable, highly contagious, often chronic, and extremely difficult to treat.

As with most diseases, prevention is typically the best medicine. That was to be the aim of The Human Mirror. I wanted to focus on building people and community up instead of tearing walls down. I began to join other “social justice warriors” who were sounding the alarm that things in society were starting to break, and we should proactively address issues before it was too late to fix them. I thought we were on the cutting edge of social renewal, but the 2016-2017 elections proved that the monstrous disease had already spread far and wide. The Russians had already beaten us in the exploration of evil as a disease and were actively using it as a means of biological warfare.

Although my blog posts often reflect the darkness that has begun to envelope the US as it has in numerous other countries (which I have admittedly been a bit naive about), I am reminded of a quote from a wise man:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

Fred Rogers

Yes, it is probably too late to focus solely on prevention, but we have not yet reached the last lines of defense. We must be aggressive in treating the illness. Doing so will require collaboration with other practitioners and implementation of innovative specialties. This is not going to be a Sunday School type of thought exercise; rather, it will be an endeavor that puts faith in action. We must find other helpers, and we must act quickly.

Image by KUHT [CC0], via Wikimedia Commons
Leave a Reply

